MSS / 膜型表面応力センサ

MSS stands for “Membrane-type Surface stress Sensor”, which is a kind of nanomechanical sensors. MSS provides unprecedented performance as a basic sensing element for olfactory sensors with high sensitivity, high selectivity, quick response, small size, mechanical/electrical robustness, and low cost. While it depends on each target molecule, MSS can detect down to ppm, ppb, and even ppt level of concentration.

MSS was developed by Dr. Genki Yoshikawa at NIMS in collaboration with Dr. Heinrich Rohrer (Nobel Prize in Physics 1986), Dr. Terunobu Akiyama (developed the probe used on NASA’s Mars rover), Dr. Peter Vettiger (Project Manager, IBM Zurich) and published in 2011 (G. Yoshikawa et al., Nano Letters 11, 1044 (2011)).

To accelerate the practical application of MSS, NIMS, Kyocera, Osaka University, NEC, Sumitomo Seika, and NanoWorld (Asahi Kasei joined from 2017) jointly launched the “MSS Alliance” in 2015, and then the “MSS Forum” in 2017 as a venue for demonstration experiment activities. More than 50 companies, universities, research institutes, and hospitals from Japan and abroad participated in this activity, making it the world’s largest industry-academia-government collaboration for olfactory sensors. In 2020, the MSS Forum evolved into a forum for broad and open information sharing for the development of olfactory sensors and related technologies (renamed the “MSS Partnership” in 2022). Thus, based on the vast amount of know-how accumulated through a series of activities, we are promoting commercialization with regard to specific applications while sharing as much information as possible.

MSSは「Membrane-type Surface stress Sensor」の略です。MSSはナノメカニカルセンサの一種であり、高い基本性能を持つ理想的な嗅覚センサ素子です。MSSは嗅覚センサに求められる高感度、高選択性、高速応答、小サイズ、機械的/電気的安定性、そして低コストといった特性を有しています。測定対象の分子種に依りますが、MSSはppm, ppb, さらにはpptといった超低濃度まで測定可能です。

MSSは、NIMSの吉川元起を中心に、Heinrich Rohrer博士(1986年ノーベル物理学賞)、秋山照伸博士(NASAの火星探査機に搭載されたプローブを開発)、Peter Vettiger博士(IBM Zurichプロジェクトマネージャー)等との共同研究によって2011年に発表されました(G. Yoshikawa et al., Nano Letters 11, 1044 (2011))。